Insiders in the North American insurance market: a project for automating AXA Equitable’s incoming mail.

Innovative Solution for the U.S. Market

Save time and money, simplify the use of e-mail and fax, and establish efficient business processes – these were the goals formulated by AXA Equitable for its incoming mail. In addition to these international issues, the challenges of the insurance market in the United States soon became apparent: a much higher percentage of forms; many different, extremely heterogeneous form variants; mostly filled with handwritten entries.

Insiders was able to convince the decision makers in the United States of its state-of-the-art products early in the selection phase. During implementation of the project, all requirements concerning AXA Equitable’s incoming mail were fulfilled successfully. AXA now processes individual retirement account (IRA), pension supplementary insurance and life insurance documents in a highly efficient manner at sites in Syracuse (New York), Secaucus (New Jersey), and Charlotte (North Carolina) – up to 65,000 images every day.

The cooperation with Insiders was highly efficient and constructive during all project phases.

Nick Intrieri, Director Strategic Solutions, PMP

On-site in the USA and in Kaiserslautern

Spending time together at each of the participant’s locations was soon identified as an important prerequisite for planning and organization as well as for user training. Insiders’ project staff therefore created the technical and organizational preconditions for successful project realization by holding kick-off meetings and workshops in person at the AXA sites. In return, the AXA project members received comprehensive training at the Insiders Akademie in Kaiserslautern. Grouped according to departments and roles, project managers and administrators attended training courses at Insiders and were thus able to acquire the skills needed for their new tasks.

Cooperation across Time Zones

These preparations turned out to be very beneficial for the communication during the project: the close coordination between the project teams in Germany and the USA was realized using web sessions and teleconferences resulting in a convenient and efficient method for the necessary daily collaboration.

Communication across time zones was a major advantage for both parties: AXA requirements could be accepted in Kaiserslautern in the afternoon and evening. They were then implemented the next morning and were already available to AXA for review at the start of the same work day in the USA.

International Team Collaboration

Once production was launched, the internationally staffed Insiders‘ team for the AXA Equitable project not only included Insiders‘ Consulting members, but also the Insiders‘ Support. In retrospect, both departments immediately benefitted from the intensive international collaboration. Insiders is now in an ideal position for future projects on the North American market.

Insiders now already provides services for the international insurance group AXA in Europe as well as North America: in addition to AXA Equitable, the national subsidiaries of Germany, Switzerland, Belgium, and France also rely on Insiders‘ intelligent solutions.

This article was published in the insiders magazine 2013

Insiders auf dem nordamerikanischen Versicherungsmarkt: Ein Projekt zur Automatisierung des Posteingangs der AXA Equitable in den USA.

Innovative Lösung für den amerikanischen Markt

Zeit- und Kosteneinsparungen, Vereinfachung der Nutzung von E-Mail und Fax und effiziente Geschäftsprozesse – so formulierte die AXA Equitable die Ziele für ihren Posteingang. Neben diesen länderunabhängigen Themen zeigten sich schnell die Herausforderungen des Versicherungsmarktes in den USA: ein wesentlich höherer Anteil an Formularen, viele verschiedene, äußerst heterogene Formularvarianten, in der Regel handschriftlich ausgefüllt.

Bereits in der Auswahlphase überzeugte Insiders die Entscheider in den USA mit technologisch führenden Produkten. In der Projektumsetzung konnten dann alle Anforderungen aus dem Posteingang der AXA Equitable erfolgreich gelöst werden. An Standorten in Syracuse (New York), Secaucus (New Jersey) und Charlotte (North Carolina) verarbeitet die AXA heute hocheffizient Dokumente der individuellen Renten-, Rentenzusatz- und Lebensversicherung – bis zu 65.000 Seiten pro Tag.

Die Zusammenarbeit mit Insiders war in allen Projektphasen hocheffizient und konstruktiv.

Nick Intrieri, Director Strategic Solutions, PMP

Vor Ort in den USA und Kaiserslautern

Eine gegenseitige Vor-Ort-Präsenz der Beteiligten – schnell zeigte sich eine wichtige Voraussetzung für die Planung und Organisation sowie die Ausbildung der Anwender. So legten die Projektverantwortlichen von Insiders in Kick-off-Meetings und Workshops in persönlicher Runde an den Standorten der AXA die technisch-organisatorischen Voraussetzungen für die erfolgreiche Realisierung des Projektes. Im Gegenzug wurden die Projektmitarbeiter der AXA in der Insiders Akademie in Kaiserslautern umfassend ausgebildet. Differenziert nach ihren Ressorts und Rollen besuchten Projektleiter und Administratoren Schulungen bei Insiders und konnten so für ihre neuen Aufgaben qualifiziert werden.

Kooperation über Zeitzonen

Für die Kommunikation im Projekt waren diese Vorbereitungen von entscheidendem Vorteil: Über Websessions und Telefonkonferenzen fand die in der täglichen Zusammenarbeit erforderliche enge Abstimmung der Projektteams in Deutschland und den USA statt – komfortabel und ohne Zeitverlust.

Die Kommunikation über die Zeitzonen war für beide Seiten von großem Vorteil: So konnten Anforderungen der AXA nachmittags und abends in Kaiserslautern aufgenommen werden. Dort wurden sie am Vormittag des Folgetages umgesetzt und der AXA bereits zu Beginn des dortigen Arbeitstages zum Review zur Verfügung gestellt.

Internationale Kooperation im Team

Das international besetzte Team von Insiders für das Projekt der AXA Equitable schloss neben dem Insiders Consulting mit der Übernahme in die Produktion auch den Insiders Support ein. Rückblickend profitierten beide Abteilungen von Beginn an von der intensiven internationalen Kooperation. Für zukünftige Projekte im nordamerikanischen Markt ist man ideal aufgestellt.

Insiders betreut den internationalen Versicherungskonzern AXA bereits in Europa und Nordamerika: Neben der AXA Equitable setzen auch die Ländergesellschaften in Deutschland, der Schweiz, Belgien und Frankreich auf die Lösungen von Insiders.

Artikel erschienen im insiders magazine 2013